Working in a workflow

The Workflows page displays all the workflows associated with you. This happens regardless of whether
you are initiator or participant. You can do the following:

Manage workflow subscriptions
Edit, start or pause self-created workflows
Show workflow details
Add workarounds to comments on this page
From the interactive menu, select My Workflow Progress to access the Workflows page.

If a user is involved in a workflow that has been scheduled but has not yet been reached, he will not
have access to the workflow details.

Show workflows

To view the workflows in which you are involved, select the Progress of my workflow option in the
interactive menu. This page contains these features:

  • Delete: Select this option to permanently remove the selected workflow.
  • Subscribe: Select this option to subscribe to the selected workflows.
  • View workflows: Refine the list of displayed workflows using the display options.
  • Name: Displays the name of the workflow.
  • Type: Displays the type of workflow: Sent or Received.

Progress: Indicates the progress of the workflow.

Appointment for Current Work Section: Displays the appointment of the current work section of a
particular workflow.
Status: Displays the Start / Stop button. Users can choose Start to start a workflow instance they
created, or Stop to stop them. Suspended workflow instances can be restarted by selecting Start. If you
have received a workflow, this column displays In progress.
You would like to edit a model you have created? For more information, see Creating and Editing
Workflow Models.

Page “Model Design”

To view all the details of a workflow model, including workspaces and actions, select the workflow name
from the list on the Workflows page. This takes you to the Model Design page.

The Model Design page provides a clear view of the details of a specific workflow instance. Each work
section is displayed on this page along with detailed information about the actions that make up the
work section. The users involved in the workflow can edit actions within a workspace and add
comments.

If you own the workflow, you can override an action to complete or fail. For example, Joe was assigned
an action in Work Section 1. However, he is missing because of illness and therefore can not complete
the action. You can use the Approve Action action to move the workflow to the next work section.

The Model Design page provides the following information and features:

  • Show / Hide Work Section: Select the plus or minus sign to show or hide the details for this work section.
  • Content items: These links provide access to any content item associated with a work item.
  • Approve action: Click this button to approve the action and move the workflow to the next work section.
  • Allow action to fail: Click this button to make the action fail.
  • Edit Action: Click this button to display the Workflow Action page.
  • Comments: Select this option to add comments to this action.
  • Show All: Displays the text for each comment in the box below.
  • Hide All: Hides the text for each comment in the box below.

List of tasks to be completed

In the Content Collection, in the interactive menu, select To-Do List. This takes you to the Actions page,
where all the actions associated with workflows in which you are involved are organized and displayed.
You can access the Workflows page from the to-do list by selecting Workflows at the top corner of the
window.

Once an action is completed, it is automatically removed from the Actions page. You can still access this
workflow (and action) from the Workflows page.

The Actions page provides the following information and functions:

  • View Actions: Use the display options to refine the list of displayed workflows.
  • Action Name: Displays the name of the action.
  • Action Status: Displays the status of the action.
  • Appointment Action: Displays the appointment for the action.
  • Workflow Name: Displays the name of the workflow associated with this action.
  • Progress of the Work: Displays the completed and remaining work for the workflow.
  • Edit: From the Action menu, select this option to display the Workflow Action page.
  • Open: From the Action menu, select this option to view the details of the workflow.

Update action

To update an action, on the Action menu, on the To Do List page, select Edit. You can also access the
Model Design page using the Edit Action option.

The Workflow Action page lists the details and content items associated with a specific workflow action.
In the “Update Action” section on this page, you can change the status of the action and add comments.

Each user involved in the workflow can add comments to an action. However, only the user to whom an
action is assigned can edit the status of the action.

The Workflow Action page has these features:

  • Instructions: Displays the instructions for this action.
  • Appointment: Displays the appointment for this action.
  • Assigned Participant: Displays the name of the user to whom this action is assigned.
  • Required: Indicates if the action is required.
  • Content Items: Displays links to all content items associated with this action.
  • Status: Select one of the options from the list to change the status of this action.
  • Subject: Enter a subject for the update.
  • Comment: Enter a comment on the status change.
  • Status History: Displays the status history of this action. Use the Show All and Hide All options to show
  • or hide the history data.

Workflow Notifications

If you want to receive regular updates about a workflow, you can subscribe to it.

On the Workflows page, select the check box next to the workflow, and then select Subscribe. This takes
you to the Workflow Notifications page, where you can manage your notifications.
Under Notifications, select one of the following options:
I need to take an action: You’ll receive status alerts about actions and workspaces that you need to
complete.
An event takes place: You receive all notifications about a workflow, including action and workspace
status.
A workflow completes or fails: You receive notifications only when a workflow completes or fails.
Never: You will not receive notifications for the selected workflow.
Select Send.
Go to Personal Settings on the Tools menu to disable all workflow notifications. Select the No workflow
notifications check box and choose Submit.